Cabinet approved today new air services agreements with Bahrain, Colombia, Egypt, Greece, Oman, Serbia and the Seychelles. These agreements will give greater options for New Zealanders travelling to those countries.

Cabinet also confirmed an amendment to the agreement with China that was announced in November last year, which doubles the number of services that airlines can operate between both countries.

Cabinet also confirmed arrangements with the Czech Republic and Curaçao, to provide opportunities for airlines to offer code-share services (where two or more airlines share the same flight).

The approval of these 10 new and amended air services agreements, or arrangements, will strengthen global links for Kiwi travellers and businesses, Transport Minister Simon Bridges says.

“The new arrangements mean that airlines from these countries will have the opportunity to offer services to New Zealand if they see commercial opportunities – unhindered by the regulatory barriers that characterise much of international aviation. “Similarly, New Zealand airlines now have the opportunity to offer services in these markets”, Mr Bridges says.

Read more about the new air agreement here.

View the Minister's media release(external link).

← Back to the news

Last updated on: